PLT Scheme

While reading Finding Lisp I saw an article about Shriram Krishnamurthi’s presentation “The Swine before Perl”. As a sometimes Perl programmer I was sure I’d be offended, but it was actually pretty cool. Shriram is one of the developers of PLT Scheme and the presentation is about how Scheme can be used for some of the “messy” problems, like text parsing, usually associated with Perl. Very enlightening.

Even more interesting, for me, was his mention of PLT Scheme’s continuation based servlet library. Like almost everyone on the net, I’ve been curious about continuation based web-apps ever since reading Paul Graham’s essay Beating the Averages. I’d been planning to look at Uncommon Web, but after taking a look at PLT Scheme, maybe I’ll just use that instead. Not only does it come with a continuations based web-app framework, but it comes with a fairly decent looking non-emacs development environment.

The only downside is that I’ve been reading books on Common Lisp. Scheme’s syntax seems *just* different enough that I think I may need to pick up a book on Scheme. Oh well, I guess I’ll start with Teach Yourself Scheme in Fixnum Days online.

Leave a Reply

