Rails breakpoints broken?

Arghh… So I decided to do a bit of Rails programming today. While I was trying to figure out a small problem in my program, I decided to fire up the good old Rails breakpointer command only to get this error message:

Breakpoints are not currently working with Ruby 1.8.5

WTF? That’s it? No message about what the recommended alternative is? Gee guys that’s professional.

Luckily a few minutes searching on Google led me to a discussion of a reasonable alternative.

Hurray for Google searches! However, even thought it all worked out in the end, incidents like these cause me to wonder if people who claim that Ruby and Rails is still to immature might not be clueless luddites.

I won’t even start on discussing what a useless, outdated, spam-overrun waste of time the Rails Wiki has become….

Leave a Reply

